: One of those questions I really should know the answer to...

Spyder
11-15-06, 04:59 PM
But I'm at the last step of the Chevy small block put-back-together. All I've got left to do is adjust the rocker arms, put the covers on and hook up the fuel and battery.

How do I do the rocker arms? I've never done a chevy or ford before, and Mopar is super simple. Bolt it on and go.

Stupid question, I should know it being a car guy, but finding 0 degrees without a timing mark...I do believe that's the first step...but if someone could walk me through it I'd be greatly appreciative. I might even give REP POINTS!!!

HITMONEY
11-15-06, 05:13 PM
Solid lifter Cam or hydraulic...?

HITMONEY
11-15-06, 05:16 PM
And I am plagerizing here.. sue me...

Where the Hell is TDC ?

How do we know exactly where this TDC point is anyway? Well, to do this we need to put a circular degree wheel on the end of the crankshaft that has 360 marks, one for each degree of crankshaft movement as well as marks for TDC (zero degrees) and BDC (180 degrees). BDC is bottom dead center, where the piston is as far away from the cylinder head as possible. A piece of wire can be manipulated into place to align up with the TDC mark (zero degrees).