: How To: Remove your air bag & steering wheel

iametarq
11-07-06, 09:48 AM
Since I installed a new steering wheel this weekend (the one with wood grain, thanks CaddyDaddy!!) I took some pictures and documented the process. It's not that hard, just tests your nerves since you're dealing with the airbag.

**DISCLAIMER: I take no responsiblity for your personal injury if you do this wrong...I'm a home mechanic, not a pro.**

1. With the car running turn you steering wheel so that the button controls on the wheel are at 12 o'clock and 6 o'clock.

2. Turn off the car.

3. Remove the Air Bag fuse #8 from under the back seat, and disconnect the negative battery terminal. Let the car sit for at least 15 minutes (this is what I was told!)

4. Using a flat bladed screw driver insert and twist about 90* while pulling out on one corner that corner of the airbag. See picture below. You will do this on all 4 corners. This is the view from the rear of the steering wheel.

http://gallery.iametarq.com/cars/cadillac%201998%20seville%20sls/interior/steering%20wheel/.cache/640x480-IMG_5486.JPG

5. Remove all electrical connectors on the back of the airbag and your two steering wheel control buttons. there are a total of 6 connections to be removed. Back of air bag is pictured below, sorry I forgot to get a shot of the back sides of the buttons.

http://gallery.iametarq.com/cars/cadillac%201998%20seville%20sls/interior/steering%20wheel/.cache/640x480-IMG_5487.JPG

6. If you only need to replace your steering wheel control buttons you will see two Torx screws on the back side of each control, unscrew and replace the unit and you are done! (after you reconnect everything).

7. To continue on with removing the steering wheel reach for your 21mm socket, and remove the nut.

http://gallery.iametarq.com/cars/cadillac%201998%20seville%20sls/interior/steering%20wheel/.cache/640x480-IMG_5489.JPG