: Magnets Increase Mileage/Power??

digitalcaddie
10-31-06, 05:31 PM
Just messing around on eBay today and I came across this auction...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Cadillac-Seville-Gas-Fuel-Saver-98-99-00-01-02-03-04-05_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ42604QQihZ007QQitemZ 170043766039QQrdZ1

The guy claims that his magnet aligns/ionizes the hydrocarbon molecules in gasoline which allows for better mixing with oxygen in the carburetor which yields more complete combustion which yields better fuel economy and more power. Has anyone tried one of these before??? What were your results???

I'm an electrical engineer whose had quite a bit of chemistry and regularly works with electric and magnetic fields, but I don't quite see how ionizing and aligning the gasoline molecules will yield better performance. I would think that if you're getting incomplete combustion (not enough oxygen in the chambers) you're going to lose power, but the O2 sensors should adjust the air/fuel ratio to correct the problem. So as long as you have plenty of O2 in the carb, why would ionizing the molecules change anything?? Let me know what you think or please post a review if you've tried one of these things. Thanks.

digitalcaddie
10-31-06, 05:33 PM
OK...the link above is to his auction, but if the auction has ended do a search for Item #170043766039.

This is one of the strangest things I've seen.

Kcryan
10-31-06, 05:51 PM
Nope, they dont work, but im sure people buy them and get a wonderful placebo effect....

digitalcaddie
10-31-06, 06:01 PM
Hmm...interesting. The guy offered 3 times your money back if you weren't happy...he must be banking on the "placebo" effect or people who are too lazy to track him down.

dkozloski
10-31-06, 06:20 PM
Buy six sets of these, put them on your car, as you drive you can drain the excess fuel as it accumulates in your tank and sell it to your neighbors. Prosperity is just around the corner.

danbuc
10-31-06, 06:22 PM