: NS300L Insert kit

richbanta
10-26-06, 08:55 PM
I think I am going to try the NS300L inserts. The inserts themselves are a standard 5/8-11 thread so I am just going to order the inserts themselves at 8.75 each, and buy a 17/32 drill and the taps soemwhere else (much cheaper). It works out to $187.00 for inserts, including shipping. I got the taps and drill for about $20 total. The only thing that concerns me is drilling into an aluminum hole with threads already present. I am afraid that the drill may catch and pull itself in. I can keep it from drilliling too deep by just dulling the chisel point of the bit. I think that if I radius the outside cutting edge of the drill bit itself, it should keep it from catching and pulling itself in. Any ideas or concerns? Thanks. ( I used to work for a living as a machinist/tool and die maker before practicing law!)

Ranger
10-26-06, 09:52 PM
The Timeserts get swaged at the bottom on insertion to aid in holding. How about the NS300L's? Are you going to make a guide for depth and alignment or attempt it by hand? personqally, this is not something I would want to do twice. Seems to me you are talking about saving around $150. Not sure I'd chance it.

zonie77
10-26-06, 10:01 PM
Have you looked at the pics of the timesert drill and the NS300L drill? If that's all they've done then you'd be set.

dkozloski
10-27-06, 12:04 AM