: Northstar performance Upgrades!!!

Cjk16
09-21-06, 10:32 PM
Hey! im new to CadillacForums, but i've had this idea that i cant get out of my head. I want to put a 4.6L Northstar into my 1967 Camaro (For Sale BTW), and couple it with a 6spd tranny to the rear. I have a couple questions first... Can this be done?!?! (with a reasonable budget)

Lets say it is possable, now i have a stock Northstar with 300hp tops. What can i do to get it 400-450HP????? i've looked around for a while but cant find ANY aftermarket cams or heads. What products could i get to throw my HP way up there???

danbuc
09-21-06, 10:48 PM
If by reasonable...you mean upwards of $5-7k than maybe. chrfab (http://www.chrfab.com) is to place to find the parts you'll need to make the power you want. With enough money anything's possible. For the money it'll cost you to procure an engine, build it up, find a trans and adapt the bellhousing to the block (one bolt is on the wrong spot, and I'll take it you'll be using a tremec), and sort out the rest of the stuff......you'd be better of just build up a nice 350, o rmaybe a 383 stroker. Hell, stuff a 502 in there for good measure. Granted they don't have the "Cool" factor that an all aluminum DOHC motor does, but they'd be checper to build as far as total project cost goes. As I said before...anything's possible with enough money. Good Luck!

Cjk16
09-21-06, 11:29 PM
How much do you think a nice set of cam's will increase the HP??

Also, what bolt on mods would be best for most HP increase...and how much?? (Headers and exharust, throttle body, free flow intake, etc.)

eldorado1
09-22-06, 06:06 AM
best hp would be cams, then headers and exhaust. That will get you your 400hp right there.

Cjk16
09-22-06, 09:25 AM
What kinds of mods would i have to make to the computer to let me run the engine like that in another car?? Or does someone make an aftermarket wiring harness??

eldorado1
09-22-06, 11:07 AM