: Keep or Sell 2000 Catera? Need Advice.

RADman2000
09-18-06, 10:36 PM
I have just inherited a 2000 Catera (non-sport), 30K miles, no major problems (yet), garaged, perfect inside and out, driven "lightly". I've been driving a 1995 Mercedes C280 for the past 9 years, 140K miles, about two $500 repairs/year, no engine problems, garaged, excellent condition inside and out.

I only need/can afford to keep one car. I drive about 7000 mi/yr, mostly to and from work. Debating what to do. Choices are a) keep Catera and sell Mercedes, b) keep Mercedes and sell Catera, or c) sell/trade both and get something else. Blue book on Catera is about $7500; $4000 on Mercedes. I'm tempted to keep the Catera because it has 110K fewer miles than the Benz, I know its history, and where can you find that kind of luxury for $7500? Obviously, I'm worried about the reliability horror stories. If I had the bucks, I would sell both to make an 11K or 12K down payment on a low-mileage Benz or BMW. But I would be looking at >$25K for something with 30K miles, and I just can't swing that now.

What would you do? Advice appreciated.

passionaterage
09-18-06, 10:44 PM
As much as I love mine when it's running well with no problems (which is very rare), I'd say sell the Catera while it's running well with no problems so you can get a good price for it. They really are nothing but trouble waiting to happen (and it WILL happen). There will be a few people on here that say their's runs perfectly, all you have to do is keep them up. Well if you decide to keep yours,and you have the big bucks to take it to the Caddy dealer all the time to have them repaired, then good luck, you'll need it. This is certainly not a car that you rely on as your primary source of transportation.

guardian
09-19-06, 06:20 AM
I can't tell you what to do. But I can tell you what I would do: