: Vibration is scaring me!

Strizzack
08-30-06, 11:40 AM
About 1 week ago I noticed my car suddenly got loud on the highway. I was traveling around 60 mph and it was almost as if I was driving on a rough road. This problem is permanent now as its been happening ever since.

Theres a vibration coming from around the front wheels and its kind of loud to...like a low rumbling. As I increase my speed, the vibration and noise gets louder. I have my assumptions, such as CV boots, Tie Rods, or maybe bad alignment, but I'm no mechanic.

Has anybody experienced this problem before or maybe have some ideas of what it could be?

Thanks

btw, I have a '97 Catera with 112,000 miles.

investor74
08-30-06, 02:28 PM
Hello,

I had the same thing a while ago. I stopped the car and looked at the tires. Due to faulty alignment, one front tire was worn down to the metal on the inside where you cannot easily see it. The rest of the tire looked like it had plenty of tread. I was so scared, I changed to the spare tire.

Barry
'97 Forest Green Catera (origninal owner)

Strizzack
08-30-06, 03:38 PM
I'll check that out. Thanks for the reply!

Strizzack
08-30-06, 05:13 PM
The tires seem to be fine. Any other ideas?

AllenPacla
08-31-06, 11:38 PM
Have the car checked for alignment, and then have them check on other parts that maybe loose or faulty.

CadiJeff
08-31-06, 11:56 PM
Wheel Bearing would be my first thought, second would be a missing cyl.

carate
09-01-06, 01:07 PM
I would look at the tires again. My 97 had a similar rumbling noise and the cause was feathering on the front tires. It wasn't so much one side was worn down, it was the tread wearing down on one edge. If you look at the tire cross-sectionally you may notice the rear of one block of rubber is lower than the front edge of the block nextdoor. Traps air and causes rumble noise. New tires + Alignment and Camber check are required.

TriZz
09-01-06, 05:53 PM