: runaway eng Speed -Glowing exhaust -4.6L N*

C170B
08-26-06, 10:38 PM
I just replaced FPR on 1994 Concours 4.6L .

Cranked it up and Engine is runaway will not idle down. 2500 + RPM. Loud
throaty sound on start up.

I let it run about 3 minutes and shut it off. It is dark outside and I was really shocked when I noticed Bright orange glow between rear of engine on firewall cowling. Cherry red to orange...

This was to be a simple driveway replacementof FPR on 94 N* Concours.

Unless some one can help me w advice quickly I may have to purchase another vehicle or find a commercial repair shop.

What did I do wrong ? THe FPR replacement was straight forward, installed the "O" ring supplied w part.

Why won't it idle normally as before the FPR was replaced?

regards,

codewize
08-27-06, 12:03 AM
I've never done the job before but my first guess would be a bad or mis-adjusted regulator allowing to high of pressure.

I'm only guessing because you're asking for immediate help.

dkozloski
08-27-06, 12:21 AM
You've got a huge intake leak. Calm down and wait 'til daylight. You'll be okay.

Ranger
08-27-06, 11:20 AM
'94 had the FPR inside the intake as I recall. Either you installed it wrong and are leaking raw gas into the manifold (which would explain the glowing cat) and/or you installed the manifold cover wrong and as Koz said, you have a bad vacuum leak (which would explain the high RPM's).

dkozloski
08-27-06, 11:43 AM
'94 had the FPR inside the intake as I recall. Either you installed it wrong and are leaking raw gas into the manifold (which would explain the glowing cat) and/or you installed the manifold cover wrong and as Koz said, you have a bad vacuum leak (which would explain the high RPM's).