: Head Gasket Going

Yaemish
05-27-06, 12:22 PM
I have a bit of a problem. My Eldorado has about 96k on it and is in perfect condition othr than a little problem.... one of the head gaskets is about the go and now I have a little decision to make.

I love the car to death but it seems to me that it might be getting to that age where a lot of problems are going to start comming up. I'm not sure if I should just seal it up, tell the next buyer and sell it and maybe get a Lexus or something. Or if I should just fix it. The car has already had the AC compressor replaced, a solinoid, wiring harness inside th transmission, and alternator.

As you can see a lot has already been fixed so I don't know what the hell I want to do.

For everyone that has had the headgasket replaced, how much does it usually cost? Do they need to pull the engine or can a good Cadillac mechanic do it with the engine in?

I~LUV~Caddys8792
05-27-06, 12:50 PM
Well I'm no expert on the Northstar, but I believe the entire drivetrain has to come out to do the head gaskets. Plus, when the heads come off, you have to redrill the head bolt holes. Theres a specific name for that operation, but I forget what it's called. I think an operation like that runs you two to three thousand dollars.

Ranger
05-27-06, 04:25 PM
Head gaskets have been done with the engine in the car but it is more difficult than dropping the drivetrain from what I understand.

The thread insert proceedure I~LUV~Caddys8792 is talking about is Timeserts. http://www.timesert.com

$2000 would be a very good price. I seem to recall others quoting $3000 - $4000.

Yaemish
05-27-06, 04:34 PM
So is the timeset thing cheaper or is is part of the overall process?

I~LUV~Caddys8792
05-27-06, 04:37 PM
It's part of the overall process.

You have to redrill the bolt holes (20 of them) and timesert them.

Yaemish
05-27-06, 05:23 PM
Time to get a new car :( I guess I should start shopping. Anyone know if the 2000 + Cadillacs still have this problem?