: Is it possible to go from 4.1 to Northstar?

BryanPaw
01-26-04, 09:44 PM
Hi everyone,

I have an 85 biarritz that i just love. But calling it gutless is still being generous. I would love to put the whole Northstar drivetrain into it but electronics and computer stuff still baffles me a bit. Is there a way to do it without losing things like mileage calculator, and climate control. Or do i have to make all the Northstar goodies fit into my interior. I'm also curious if anybody's ever turbocharged a Northstar. I'm sure that theres enough room but is it a good idea?

Thanks,
BryanPaw

ChiMick
01-27-04, 08:51 PM
With the understanding that I am not an expert in engine swapping, but had helped a buddy of mine that had his own shop do quite a few swaps in the pre-computer days....

I am thinking that you can do this swap if you want to spend the money to have an expert do it for you. I suspect it will not be cheap. :shocked2:

I'd suggest 2 alternatives:

1> How about having a local rod shop look at your '85 and see what can be done to improve the performance? It might be as simple as swapping out an engine control chip. Also visit http://www.gmperformancetuning.com for possible upgrades to this engine.

2> If that's a no go, is there a contemporary Northstar equipped vehicle that has most of the best features of your current vehicle? I would not doubt that you could get a second car for what this swap will likely cost.

In any case I hope you get the performance improvement that you are seeking.

CADDYBLACK99
01-28-04, 10:34 AM
Welcome!
I'm not an a DIY'er so I cannot offer any ideas. Good luck on your project. Post some pictures when yopu get a chance.

elwesso
01-28-04, 07:09 PM
Moved to the Northstar tech.... :)

As far as turbo applications, it can be done, and it has been done.... more popular forced induction is a supercharger.....