: 94 to 97 Northstar interchange question

Joseph Upson
05-14-06, 07:05 AM
About to become a Cadillac mechanic briefly to do an engine swap in my brothers 94 Concours that runs but has a blown head gasket. We found a 97 but so far have discovered that there are intake and EGR differences that will render the EGR system non functional should the 97 be installed in the 94 body, is there anything else that would cause compatibility issues that someone can inform me of to further encourage purchase of the time sert to repair the current engine.

Thanks for any advice, that can be offered, I have plenty of engine building experience and am aware of the TLC required for the Cadi engine which is why I didn't want to bother with it initially.

Joseph

Loose screw
05-14-06, 02:48 PM
Why not do a Time-sert repair instead of the head threads or better yet just rebuild it at least then you know your head bolts won't pull out. There aren't alot of part to repalace. Gaskets, seals, rings, rod bearing (not reusable once cap is loosened) new head bolts and a Time -sert kit. $1000 bucks and your done. You don't know if or when that will happen in the 97 which it may have all ready.

How many miles on the 94?

Ranger
05-14-06, 09:09 PM
For starters '94 is OBDI and '97 is OBDII. That has to present some problems.

zonie77
05-15-06, 02:39 PM
It is easier to just fix the 94 than trying to mix parts. Find a used timesert kit (if possible) and it'll only be as low as a few hundred for gaskets. More if you decide to do more than necessary.

caddydaddy
05-15-06, 02:52 PM
...and the '96 and up Northstars have MAF sensors, where the older ones do not! Like other have said, it's better to get another '93-'94 Northstar long block.

Zorb750
05-15-06, 04:49 PM
What if you just pitched the 95+ intake in its entirety and put the 94 intake (Manifold, tb, cover, all)? I know you can put a 95 engine (OBD1) in a 96-99 car (OBD2) and you just have to swap manifolds (and TB).

eldorado1