: API grades

Jan Olsson
05-08-06, 03:10 PM
Hi everyone!

Iīm a newbie here so I thought Iīd say hello, proud member of Caddyinfo too I might add.

I got some questions about oil...donīt wanīt to start another debate here. :thehand:
My -93 STS requires 10W-30 oil API service grade SG, but since the current grade is SM I got a few questions.
Am I right about grade SM being better or at least being equal to grade SG with respect to wear? If that is the case, is it also ok to fill my -88 Eldo with it? My Eldo requires grade SF.
The reason Iīm asking is because Iīve seen posts about filling 4.9 L with 15W-40 oil with a higher degree of ZDP (ZDDP) eg "diesel oil" to get better protection against wear for the distributor gearing etc.
Why is it necessary to do that if the grades are getting increasingly "better"?:confused:
Isnīt the backward compatibility in SM reaching down to SF, SG or what?

Please excuse my bad english.

Janne

chevelle
05-08-06, 04:11 PM
Your english is fine. Better than my German or whatever.....LOL

You are correct in assuming that the later API grades such as SL or SM are "better" and , as such, supercede the earlier grades. That is conventional wisdom and is pretty much the case as one of the API requirements is that "improved" performance grades supercede prior grades and are always backwards compatible.

Having said that.....the current crop of oils "rated for gasoline engines" that are on the shelf in the most obvious locations in the stores are also "fuel economy" oils. Any oil with the ILSAC "starburst" symbol that says "for gasoline engines" is a bit of a hybrid....those oils meet the latest API performance specs, have the minimum allowable ZDP (to prevent catalyst contamination) and have friction modifiers in the oil for fuel economy improvement.