: I think I blew it up

docspeed
03-16-06, 05:30 PM
Whats up yall? New to the board but not to Cadillac's. Anyways I have a 94 Eldorado ETC and the other weekend I took it out for a little "street" action. While I was racing a turbo civic(got beat by 1 car damn civic's) and started to here a slight knock and a really loud metal on metal clunk coming out of the front valve cover. You can only here the clunk above 2000 rpm at idle it runs smooth as it always did. Any idea on what it could be? Also is it possible to pull the valve cover without removing the pulley for the water pump? I'm not a newbie when it comes to working on cars or rebuilding engines I've just never messed with anything with dohc and as cramped of an engine compartment in the Eldo. Anyone know of good info on the web or a good manual on how to pull the Northstar?

Thanks,

Randall

fubar569
03-16-06, 06:28 PM
is it a knock or clunking? i highly doubt you hurt the top end of this motor. possible rod knock?

best advice i can offer? drop it out the botom. drop the whole cradle and seperate it on the ground.

you should invest in some service manuals. if you can find the factory service manuals, you will thank yourself later. bite the bullet and fork over the upto 100 bucks for them. it's worth it.

Zorb750
03-16-06, 09:08 PM
Post recording.

zonie77
03-16-06, 10:37 PM
Look in the tech tips section for the N* head gasket thread. It has info on dropping the engine.

Odin8
03-16-06, 11:23 PM
Hmm, before mine blew up it made a similiar sound. When the engine was finally torn apart, one of my main bearings was completely gone. They figured that went first, caused the piston to start knocking, then eventually broke the wristpin and snapped the piston in half.

auroradude
03-16-06, 11:28 PM