: Sidewall stiffness

Luna.
03-10-06, 03:03 PM
I've been reviewing a lot of tire threads on this board, but I can't seem to find many threads that talk about sidewall stiffness.

What tire on the market, not considering a run-flat, is generally regarded as having the stiffest sidewall? The Falken Azenis RT615?

Dreamin
03-10-06, 05:29 PM
Manage your ride stiffness with springs and shocks (i.e. FG2's and GC coilovers)... not tire sidewalls.

But to answer your question Michelin PS2 are pretty stiff... but still not as stiff as the stock RF's. I've never tried the Falkens.

RobzBLKV
03-10-06, 05:47 PM
Falkin's are supposed to be pretty stiff, but I have no experience. I switched from Bridgestone Re750s to PS2s once, and I thought the Bridgestone's side walls were significantly stiffer. The SO3s are stiffer yet.

But I don't think it matters much on this car. Nothing will be as stiff as the oem tires were (at least I doubt it), but the car feels a ton better with decent tires on it.

Luna.
03-10-06, 10:09 PM
Manage your ride stiffness with springs and shocks (i.e. FG2's and GC coilovers)... not tire sidewalls.

Totally agree. The sway bar kit is coming...:)

Further, I anticipate the FG2s in my near future. Hey--a group buy for FG2s could be a serious one!!!

However, tire sidewall stiffness plays a role in my mind. I experienced the exact same problem in my '97 Z28 Camaro that was cured when I went to a stiffer sidewall. As much as I loathe the run-craps for tire wear, they were superb in terms of handling...

DILLIGAF
03-10-06, 10:25 PM