: Oil Pressure Light question

JiffyPop
03-07-06, 11:33 PM
Well, I found my 1990 Brougham D'Elegance with a 5.0L 4bbl (aka Olds 307) about 3 months ago for $2400. Need tires and probably brakes soon, but I have no regrets as it is the most comfortable car I have ever driven. I am still learning all of the issues that the car has, but the Michigan winter is too cold to do much serious investigation.

The pressing issue that can up today is the "Stop Engine Low Oil Pressure" light. I have looked around the forum and I have a couple suspitions, but I could use some help. I was negligent in keeping my oil level up until my lifters started ticking about a week ago. I had (and still have, waiting for time/money) a 1965 Mercury Monterey convertible in high school that always ticked when the engine was reved, so at least I know the sound.

I put in 2 quarts and assumed that that would be okay. This morning on my way to drop of my daughter in day care the light came on. The engine wasn't even fully warmed up so I knew it wasn't overheating, so I pulled over and added another couple of quarts I had bought the last night. I could finally see the oil on the dipstick... it must have been REALLY low last week.

I drove to work (<10 minute drive) without any lifter ticking and then got an oil change (with filter, in case it was blocked up) after work. The light is still on. It will flicker a bit when I am driving and go out for a second on some sharp left corners, but it isn't going out when driving on the freeway. When the oil was changed I found out where much of the missing oil went: out the carb. The quick-change monkey suggested the rings are going, which makes sense, but I would be interested in knowing if it will get worse (unfortunately can't afford to get a mechanic to look at all of this, budget wise).

Man, this has turned into a $%^& dissertation. Anyway, here are my suspisions:
1) Oil pump isn't priming
2) Oil pump pressure release valve is stuck open