: 01 Eldo Coolant changing tips

wydopnthrtl
02-19-06, 08:19 AM
Well my Eldo Just rolled 39k miles and other than the oil it appears to be all original. (recently purchased car)

Nobody around here knows me so here is a little bio. Not to brag mind you.. just to give a little credibility to my accounts and advise. I am a OEM auotmotive engineer. And specifically back in the 90s I was a water pump/FEAD engineer. I sat right accross the isle from the N* water pump engineer and am fully aware of the design of our cooling systems. So.. after searching and reading much around here I decided to change the coolant. (the car is 5 years old and it was a 1/2 gallon low on coolant btw)

Fist off, This is'nt a hard job at all. As long as you can raise the car, lay on your back, and don't mind gettig a little dirty? It's really easy.
Secondly something I saw people talk about was "pellets". Well, right on the cowl of my 01 Eldo there is a sticker that says to add 3 pellets when changing the coolant. Even gives the GM part number. (That sticker is on the plastic cover right above the radiator) Owners manual says 12.5 quarts of coolant.. and that's just about what drained out.

The pellets were very hard to find on a sat afternoon in my medium sized town! Turns out my local car quest had some bars-leak version of the pellets. I also don't waste my money on the "premixed 50/50" stuff. I always mix my own and measure it's density with a guage. But to each thier own.

I saw differening comments about the pellets and where to put them. But me being the eternal gear head... I know a little trick that simple and no hose removal is needed. Noted below.

1) Parking brake, jack drivers side of car, and support with a stand.
2) Remove the degass bottles cap. (pass side - mid fender)
3) Under car, Remove the plastic shield just rearward of radiator. (three 10mm screws)