: door freezing problem - need help!

wamanning
02-17-06, 11:35 AM
any time i get rain or alot of melt on my car, followed up by a sub-25F cold spell, my doors freeze shut and the door locking mech freezes open.

i end up having to really give the door-handle a heave-ho just to open up the door (sometimes feels like i might tear the door handle off) and then when i go to slam the door shut, the latching mech is frozen open and it wont latch!

i'm looking for tips on how to minimize the infiltration of water around the perimeter of the door. the gaskets/seals look OK, but i'm no expert in evaluating the quality of door gaskets/seals.

maybe i can spray the gaskets/seals w/ something like armor-all to give them a more water-resistant seal? i also spray the latching mech w/ wd40 which seems to loosen it up enough that it'll latch closed, but it's not permanent - after the next wet/freeze cycle this invariably happens again and i need to re-spray the latching mech w/ wd40.

i'm thinking if i can get a better seal around the door perimeter, the lube demands on the latching mech wont be so critical.

thoughts? suggestions? tips? hook a brutha up!

ps. it's a 2001 catera sport.

R-Caddy
02-17-06, 07:14 PM
:hmm: Yeah... wd40 might help. As for Armor-all on the gaskets, I would probably try something stronger, like 303. If that doesn't do you any good, try a lot of grease... :suspense:

ewill3rd
02-19-06, 04:49 PM
Spray the latches with "super-lube".

Before you yank out on the door and rip the handle out, push the door inboard first.
If you push in on the door first, it will compress the weatherstrips and break the grip of the ice. That will make it easy to pull the door open.
If you keep yanking on the handle, one day it will come off.

guardian
02-22-06, 02:02 AM
I think the earlier posters' suggestions are good. I'm just not sure they will work. I hope they do.

But I agree with your use of the term "infiltration". That is spot on.