: Should I fix or sell?

copperscooter
01-01-04, 11:12 PM
I am a newbie and see that there are many knowledgeable Northstar folks on this forum. I am looking for advice on whether to bite the bullet and sell mine for what I can get or stretch myself and try to fix mine. Here is my story.

I recently purchased a 1994 Seville STS at a police impound auction. I knew it was a gamble because no information is given about the vehicles. I thought initially I had hit the jackpot because I drove it off the lot for less than $1500. Aside from bouncy struts and minor cosmetic problems, it seemed OK.

A week or two later I ran into the previous owner. He recognized his car and proceeded to tell me how he had abused the poor car. He told how he had bottom the car out, damaged the frame, lost the oil and seized the engine. I asked him what he was doing to bottom it out so severely. He responded, ďRunning from the cops!Ē I did find minor damage on the engine carriage frame but did not believe the engine seized part because I was driving it and it ran great. However, now it seems his story was accurate. Two weeks later, it developed a nasty knock. In an effort to quite it, I purchase some expensive oil treatment. When I drained the old oil, my stomach turned as the oil looked like brown paint with copper metallic flake.

For the short time it was running OK, I loved the car, bouncy struts considered. However, putting my heart aside I felt I should try to sell the car. After a month of advertising with a picture ad in a statewide car trader at $2200, I have had one $1500 offer. While it seems that I would get my money back, it will cost around $300 to register it in order to sell it legally (Iím a cop and thatís important!).