: How To Repair a High Mounted Rear Tail Light - Courtesy Tazzy69

Ranger
02-03-06, 07:14 PM
The following is courtesy of Tazzy69.

OK ... here goes...assuming the lite bar is off the trunk.....now... this is going to sound Mickey Mouse...but it worked! Hey .. I'm not a rocket scientist!
Sorry no pics...it's already back together...and I don't even have a digital camera.

I used a carpet cutter first, to SLOWLY pry up one corner (at either end) ..and I mean SLOWLY!!!!!! Surprisingly ..the plastic cover (the part you see when it's installed) is not as brittle as a regular plastic lense BUT it can still break...mine didn't. The sealer used is still fairly maluable (but not much) but try to cut the seams, on either side of the seal bead using an exacto blade or utility knife. (To separate the plastic from both sides of the bead seal) Do one end completly and cut the seal bead 4-5 inches down both sides of the rail. Starting the separation was tedious as this is where I thought I would break it.

As soon as you start to get separation.. put the blade part of the screw driver (Round) in there and try to cut the seal bead with the utility knife as it starts to separate..... once this happens... try to separate both sides (top and bottom of the bar) then you can slide the screw driver all the way thru so that the top and bottom of the bar are now separated and the screw driver is stopping the front and back of the bar from coming together.
The screw driver can now act as a lever as it moves down the rail as you SLOWLY continue to cut on either side of the seal bead (top and bottom) and cutting the bead as it starts to separate .. Cut some more, 4-5 inches ahead, on either side of the bead and slide the screw driver along (SLOWLY!!!) some more to increase pressure and so on......... till done.