: Possible purchase 2000 Catera

possumdog
02-01-06, 02:51 PM
I'm looking at a 2000 Catera with under 54,000 on it. Looking through the forum it appears that earlier models had some major deficiencies, did any of these carry over to the 2000 model? I'm currently a college student so the purchase would clean me out, money wise, leaving me in a bad situation if severe problems arose. Are there certain components that I should pay particular attention as they are prone to failure?

guardian
02-02-06, 03:28 AM
You need to tell us how much the car is ($$) and also the build date of the car.

Unless you have fallen desperately in love with the Catera, it's probably not the best car to "go for broke" on. Cateras in general have a high incidence of repairs. It's sort of the opposite of a Toyota in this regard. And the repairs can be expensive , unless you have the ability to perform them yourself. Even then, the parts can sometimes be quite expensive.

If you are in love with the car, call the VIN into the Caddy help line (free call). If you are lucky maybe there's an outstanding recall for the car. This would get you free fixes for at least some items.

Good luck!

guardian
02-02-06, 03:34 AM
Oh, sorry, I forgot:

Never, ever, buy a Catera without a "six sided look". You MUST look beneath the car, at the bottom, prior to purchase. Cateras are VERY leak prone. Examine the underside, or be ready with a "cat diaper" for when you get the car home!

CateraSport2000
02-02-06, 04:53 PM
I wouldn't recommend a Catera for a college student. I had a money pit car (1992 Subaru SVX) in college and it killed me although I loved the car more than life itself. I ended up using my student loans to pay for repairs on the car. Get something more reliable for now (Civic...Corolla...zzzzz) and when you are more financially able, you can probably start looking at European cars again. I wish someone would have told me to do that!

Jeff

miahcornell
02-03-06, 05:46 PM