: Expansion tank leaking...

Wicho
01-29-06, 08:13 PM
THe "Check coolent level" warning came on and after it cooled I start tooling around to see where the leak was coming from. I found that right next to the expansion tank cap there is a hose that goes down into the motor. I am new to car and this is my first car and don't know what that hose goes. Anyways it is leaking. I filled the expansion tank with coolant and it slowly rose until it reached the hose outlet and leaked out through there. Also I noticed that the radiator hose is very soft and when I squeezed it the coolent would raise quicker like as if I was pumping with the hose. Can anyone help me out ? This is a 97 deville with 97k on the clock.

Ranger
01-29-06, 08:33 PM
Just had the same problem on my previous car ('97Deville) last summer. The hose you are looking at is the purge line. It runs to the water pump housing. The official fix is to R & R (remove and replace) the surge tank. I was able to repair mine and it is still holding. If you want to give it a try (you have nothing to loose) scuff up the area with some sand paper. Then mix up some JB Weld and apply it to the crack. Build it up a little and then let it set for 24 hours.

Wicho
01-30-06, 12:52 AM
The expansion tank itself is not leaking. THe coolant rises to the hieght of the purge line and it goes all the way through the purge line and leaks. Could it be it came loose ? I really have not idea:suspense:

94greencaddysls
01-30-06, 01:30 AM
It's hard to help out without more specific's. Do you mean the purge line out the side of the expansion tank or the small hose that runs down from the pressure cap? You should not be filling the surge tank to the top or you will get leakage out of the expansion tank drain.

jupiter57
01-30-06, 10:25 AM
Personally, I would take no chances!