: 68 Fleetwood Electrical Problems

Lskustumz
01-14-06, 10:06 PM
Hey guys, Im a bit a of newbie so please bare with me. I have 1968 Fleetwood Brougham that for some strange reason lost power to all accessoreis, lights, opera lights, heater blower, etc. The strange thing is that the engine temp light comes on when the ignition is on and I turn on the lights or try to operate the windows. I am at a total loss.:banghead: I tried the ignition switch and it was good, traced the wires through the firewall and still nothing. The bottom 4 fuses on the panel, including the window breaker, have less voltage, 11.8 versus the top with 12.5. The engine still runs good and headlights and blinkers work and all fuses are good. All the windows worked before, wing windows and power seat all that stuff. Any help at all will be greatly appreciated!!

DaveSmed
01-14-06, 10:41 PM
How did you check the ignition switch? It sounds like it might be working, but on stuff like this, it's not enough to check for voltage, or to just check continuity. You need to place the circut under load and check.

The engine temp light is a funky circut, it has constant power so it can serve as a key reminder as well. Do you by chance have a water leak by the drivers footwell? There's a few relays under there that aren't sealed too well that are susceptible to corrosion. Let me know what you find, I'll try to dig up more when i find my factory service manual.

Lskustumz
01-14-06, 11:16 PM