: Replacing a Northstar with a LS1

denscor
12-03-05, 12:57 AM
I'm new to the northstar life style but I had a thought, Aftering owning three LS1 cars and presently own a 2001 ATI supercharged LS1 Corvette with a number of mod I was thinking why couldn't you put a LS1 in a Cadillac to replace the Northstar motor? The LS1 can make loads of power many LS1 are making power into the 1000 hp!

auroradude
12-03-05, 03:00 AM
im sure its possible with unlimited funds and time.

1998Deville
12-04-05, 11:38 AM
Modern vehicles are so tightly intergrated that changing an engine to one never offered in that vehicle is very time consuming and costly. Cadillacs how so many electronic goodies in the the computer would have to be custom programmed to keep everything working. You'd be better off IMO to find a supercharged N* out of a new V series rather than switching to an LS1. Just my 2 cents.

denscor
12-04-05, 12:21 PM
If you found a donor car it would not make it that hard.Also the LS1 in the Corvette has as many or more electric goodies as the Cadillac. Another question what Transmission is it running? Is it the same one is it the 4LE based one which will bolt to a LS1 or any V 8 base GM motor,which is LS series, 3.8 v-6, 4.3 v-6, Not sure what the bolt pattern on the northstar is. Any information would be great!

:burn:

zonie77
12-04-05, 12:53 PM
Denscor, I'd agree that having a donor car would make it a lot easier. I think it would be possible, maybe not tooooooooooo hard. Getting the cars is the trick. That extra torque would be nice!

There are some old posts about what bellhouseing etc. There was a guy with a N* in a Fiero that put a lot of that info. I think chrfab.com does a lot of sandrail and custom work. Their website has some info.

blb
12-04-05, 01:16 PM
The Northstar is a good bit smaller than an LS1.

zonie77
12-04-05, 01:53 PM
I had'nt thought of the physical length. You only have so much room between the wheels.

eldorado1
12-04-05, 03:10 PM