: Would you recommend me to buy a CTS-V???

darth g-f
10-31-05, 10:05 AM
Hi,
I'm new to the CTS-V world. I own a Subaru STi and a Caterham Hayabusa. The Caddy would replace the STi as a daily driver. I am a sales rep and spend a couple hours a day in my car. The STi is really getting on my nerves. It is a very good car, reliable and fast. But the squeaking sounds and overall sound level in the car is pretty much intolerable for a guy like me that spends so much time in its car.

So I thought about the CTS-V. As fast as the STi (probably faster), but I was concerned about a couple things and need your input before buying. I looking for a used model.

What I need to know is:
-how's the car on long drives?
-how's the reliability, if I buy a CTS-V, it'll probably see upwards of 120,000miles?
-how's it to drive in the snow?

I live in Canada and we have lots of snow during winter. Of course I'd drive it with proper winter tires (Hakkapeliita2 with Studs) but I'm curious. As you might guess, the STi is awesome in the snow. It doesn't need to be as good as the STi, but I don't want to get stuck everywhere I go either.

Other cars on my short list include the M3 and S4.

Let me know.
Thanks.

04CTSVFLA
10-31-05, 10:37 AM
honestly if you drive in the snow alot...get the s4 no questions asked. Its a better all around car in cold mountainous regious IMHO. BUT to anser the other 2 questions - reliability and logn drives its great. Especially if you get the 6 year 100,000 mile warranty from gm. The cts-v is fast, and fun, and you wouldnt regret getting it. But when you do get stuck in the snow, youll have a much easier time getting the S4 out and around town.

StealthV
10-31-05, 11:58 AM
For snow, I'd go with the Caddy STS AWD, BMW 5-Series (AWD now in 2006 model year) or the S4.

A 400 hp, manual transmission V with dedicated winter tires is still not a "good" winter machine.

DrivingAmericanNow
10-31-05, 12:00 PM