: Nortstar engine removal.

Mr.fedrick
08-05-14, 07:54 AM
I am new to the sight. I recently purchased a 99 Eldorado hoping to avoid buying one with a head gasket issue. The seller was not truthful about the condition of the vehicle. I like the vehicle a lot and would like to repair. It has 156k on the odometer. I've looked around and found a shop locally that can rebuild and time sert the engine for 4k. I can also order a motor that has been studded for pretty much the same cost and would prefer the second option. That would leave the engine replacement up to me. Local shops want as much as 2200.00 just to install the new motor. Is removing and installing a nothstar motor too difficult to complete for an average mechanic? I have a 2 car garage and could take my time just curious if I should attempt to do this myself. Any thoughts.

04GrandAmGT
08-05-14, 10:43 AM
If you are willing to take the time to do it and account for how things came off... ETC. anyone can do it themselves with a decent set of tools and a engine lift. but remember its no small block chevy.

Ranger
08-05-14, 11:02 AM
:welcome:

Where are you located?

Mr.fedrick
08-05-14, 12:10 PM
I am located in NC near Sanford

rodnok01
08-05-14, 12:14 PM
Welcome fellow Tarheel. I'm half hr from you.
Engine swap easy enough, drive you insane with all the bits and pieces and wiring. To be honest if you can swap an engine you can insert or stud it too. That's actually the easy part. For way less than 2500 you can buy parts and tools.

Mr.fedrick
08-05-14, 01:01 PM