: 92-97 STS exhaust, what ya'll got?

STS
03-03-03, 06:15 PM
i can only find corsa systems for the 98-up, and their pretty expensive anyway. what have you pre-98 owners done to help improve the performance/sound of your exhaust?

jadcock
03-03-03, 07:34 PM
I think with the 92-97 generation, replacement of the mufflers and custom piping are what's most prevalent. I think a lot of folks are running Dynomax mufflers. If I were to upgrade my mufflers, I think I'd go with Borla. I have a lot of good experiences with them and their quality is top-notch. You pay for it in the price, but I really believe you're getting that in the product.

I've also had good results with Dynomax in the past, and even have one on my truck right now. I believe that if it were my Cadillac, though, I'd go with Borla. 100% personal opinion.

Check in the Allante forum on this page. Don has a set of Borlas on his '93 Northstar Allante and I can't wait to hear that setup when I meet up with him at Bristol this spring. Anyone else wanna come race?! Let's get a big Cadillac crowd out there.

Northstar32
03-19-03, 12:35 AM
Jad, in your past experiences with Borla, how long have they lasted for you? I live in Canada, and it seems that every after-market exhaust system seems to last approx 2 years, 3 MAX due to the Snow and corrosive salt . I'm almost tempted to go to GM and get a stock exhaust.
Any suggestions for my geographical climate?

jadcock
03-19-03, 09:51 AM
We've had a Borla cat-back on a Jeep Grand Cherokee and it's lasted since we've installed it 5 years ago. We live in the mid-Atlantic, so salt isn't too bad. If I recall correctly, all Borla stuff is stainless steel, meaning unless it gets damaged somehow, rust shouldn't be a problem.

93 Lac
03-19-03, 07:55 PM
Man, I am heavily interested in what I can do my 93. I say about 30 more horses oughta do it. I hope more people respond to this.

jadcock
03-19-03, 10:13 PM