: Why does dirty TB cause crazy idle?

csbacchus
09-20-05, 12:02 AM
I'm a newb here, just wanted to thank everybody first of all for all the information being shared.

It was this forum that convinced me to go ahead and buy a 1995 STS :cool2: with 82,000. Mechanic went through it and didn't find a thing wrong except the usual fluid changes, filters, etc (Not even an oil leak!). However, 2 days later I develop this crazy idle that goes from 1200-1500 all the way to 3000. It was a google search that led me to the archives and hours of hunting through threads I found many references to cleaning the throttle body first and then working your way to the ISC. I found a TB which looked like it had been treated with a black lacquer. I've cleaned about 50% and will continue to work on it (it is really solid, like nail polish almost). It seems to have done the trick on the idle though.

However, can anyone tell me why this causes the high idling? I'm curious by nature.

Also, I cleaned the MAF with contact cleaner, a little trick I learned when I had my F-150. There is rarely a need to replace this item since it only gets dirty and there aren't any moving parts.

Thanks again, I really appreciate all the info.

I love this ride! :lildevil:

danbuc
09-20-05, 12:26 AM
A gummed up TB or IAC motor can cause an unstable idle because they get stuck, and don't fully close. The IAC motor openes and closes the the throttle plate many times a second to keep the idle steady. When this goes bad, the idle can rise and fall in a rather unpredictable manner, because the IAC can regulate it. Also, if the Throttle Plate gets gummed up with carbon or what have you, it won't fully close all of the way, resulting in a higher idle.