Cadillac Owners Forum banner

They said it was too late, but I am confused.

10K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  Punmax 
#1 ·
Hello folks,

I just bought an 08 escalade with 109k miles. I am new to cadillac and before I made the purchase I posted on this forum asking suggestions. Please see here:
http://www.cadillacforums.com/forum...new-cadillac-advice-needed-two-escalades.html
As many members here preferred the first one, I bought the firs one.

I took it to dealer yesterday to do transmission service and transfer case service, and they said the also inspected the vehicle and found that front CV axle needed replace and oil pan gasket was leaking oil. They quote me $1300 for both work. I contactedfirestone and their price was around 700. However, I found an independent auto shop in Columbus, OH, which has some 70 google reviews and all 5 stars! As a result, I went there this morning. Here is what something serious came in.

The independent technician checked my vehicle and he said the following:

We diagnosed the car and found that both side exhaust manifolds are rusted, passenger side manifold boot is broken, under car is starting to rust, driverside axle shaft is spitting grease, and main seal and oil pan gasket is leaking oil.

But the most heartbroken thing is that he told me the car was seriously abused considering the rust it has. I asked him any wayto fix it? He said it is better not to touch it right now and repair it when it breaks. He also said that it was too late to take care of the rust and the engine may only have 20k miles left, or even 10k, regardless of what I do.