: 2002 DTS Spark Plugs

therbs
09-14-05, 05:05 PM
:cheers: hello all, a newbie here.
its time for some new plugs in my dads 2002 dts. am i wrong or are these some sort of iridium plug. i found ngk iridium xp's for $6.99 each. has anyone had good luck with a less expensive plug. i think the oem plugs are about $15 each.
(ouch). thanks in advance
doug

JimD
09-14-05, 06:49 PM
I have to wonder about the mileage on a 2002 vehicle. The OEM platinum plugs are good for at least 100,000 miles.

Is the engine throwing codes??

turbojimmy
09-14-05, 07:32 PM
I second that. The manual says they're good for 100k miles. I guess it's possible for an '02 to have 100k on it though.

Jim

Ranger
09-14-05, 08:23 PM
$15! Does the '02 use different plugs? I only paid $6 each.

JimD
09-14-05, 08:43 PM
$15! Does the '02 use different plugs? I only paid $6 each.

Larry:
IF the '02 engine is the same as my '04, the plug is a 41-987.

Ignition voltage is supplied by 8 coils located / mounted at the spark plug connector(coil-on-plug). I have not priced the plugs.

Ranger
09-14-05, 09:32 PM
I always envisioned COP as a removable coil that attatched to a regular plug much like a plug wire, as opposed to a plug with a coil built into it. Never seen one. Now I am curious. I may get a look at one in a day or so as I saw a white diamond '03 SLS with 21K on it that has peaked my interest. I may stop in and see if they want to deal.

turbojimmy
09-14-05, 09:56 PM
I always envisioned COP as a removable coil that attatched to a regular plug much like a plug wire, as opposed to a plug with a coil built into it. Never seen one. Now I am curious. I may get a look at one in a day or so as I saw a white diamond '03 SLS with 21K on it that has peaked my interest. I may stop in and see if they want to deal.