: Replace and Reprogram PCM 2001 DTS

Avaya
05-15-14, 12:35 PM
Hello all,
I have a subscription to alldatadiy.

Without all the backstory, here are the facts:

-Parasitic Draw of about 3.6 AMPs coming from the PCM BATT fuse (under hood)
-Tried to program some keys last night using the 30 minute procedure and the procedure wasn't operating as expected
-No keys will start car now(battery good); when it gets to crank, click in back, everything powers down and thats it
-No codes or security light (well there is one code P0074, airbag loop #1 open)

I'm going to replace the PCM, used ones are easy to find.

How do I program it? "All Data" references a Tech 2 and a Techline terminal ?
Is this something I can do myself? Does Autozone have stuff like this for borrow or rent? Have to go to Dealer?

Thanks!

MoistCabbage
05-15-14, 12:54 PM
A TECH II is a several thousand dollar scanner/programmer. All GM dealers have them, VERY rarely you'll find an independent shop with one.

Are you buying the PCM from somewhere that reconditions them, or just buying a used one at a salvage yard?

Avaya
05-15-14, 12:58 PM
I was going to either buy one off of ebay or a local junk yard, not a reconditioner. They seem to be priced around $30-$40. Thanks for the info MoistCabbage!

MoistCabbage
05-15-14, 12:59 PM
Then most likely it will require programming.

Submariner409
05-15-14, 02:23 PM
Yup - a GM dealer goes into the Great Database In The Sky, downloads the program for THAT car's specific VIN and flashes the replacement PCM - it will be an exact clone of the (possibly faulty) existing one.

Avaya
05-16-14, 11:08 AM
Just an update for future reference:
Bought a junkyard computer for $50. It was from a 2003 Deville and I have a 2001 Deville DTS
Swapped out computers last night, pretty easy job.
Did the 30 minute master learn, and it learned a key (although the telltale was not lighting back up for the second and third round)