: iS THE AIR DAMN FUNCTIONAL

Ross Racing
08-31-05, 04:43 PM
I lowered my car and put on a smaller 245/35/19 tire and the damn under the nose rubs a little on dips.

I was wondering if I could remove it with out it causing the car to run hotter or something. I know on my camaro it was functional for cooling.

ahahnu
08-31-05, 04:55 PM
I'm no expert, but the part of the bumper that sticks out forces the front end down during high speed and the rubber part underneath keeps air out from under the car at high sppeds making it more aerodynamic. Any one else want to correct me or agree??

rgd
08-31-05, 05:22 PM
I lowered my car and put on a smaller 245/35/19 tire and the damn under the nose rubs a little on dips.

I was wondering if I could remove it with out it causing the car to run hotter or something. I know on my camaro it was functional for cooling.

Sorry I have no answer for you, but I do have a question if that's ok.
I am lowering my car Friday night the minute UPS drops my shocks. I am curious how much you lowered your car, (more than 1.6"??) and how bad/often does it rub?

Thanks,
Bob

Ross Racing
08-31-05, 06:03 PM
I used the eibach kit also. It was a perfect drop in the front. It could not go any lower with the stock wheels and not rub. It sits barely above the front tire. At full turn of the wheel it will not rub.

The tires I put on are about 1/3 in smaller than stock and that causes the front air damn under the car to rub every once in a while if i'm not careful.

On the other hand with just the springs you could find the right dip to make the front spoiler scrap a little to. All in all I am very happy because you don't really have to drive the car like it is lowered.

urbanski
08-31-05, 06:28 PM
do you mean the rubber piece that hangs down from the bumper? (arrows)
http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/4961/dam1ux.th.jpg (http://img38.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dam1ux.jpg)

I can't see how that's functional..it's attached very loosely and is really floppy