: So I jumped into the Cadillac world with both feet

eehoepp
02-27-03, 03:49 AM
I'm a techie professional who is not too wealthy and "too young for a Cadillac" (I'm 33). I recently bought a Pearl White 94 STS to replace my old wreck. Not mint, but a stunning car. This is my first Caddy. First day I drove it, I fell in love with it. Power, luxury, handling & surprisingly good highway mileage - Wow! And the Northstar appealed to my techie side.

Then it overheated on a business trip. Blown head gasket 400km from home. I was quoted $2000 to fix it, providing nothing unusual was found. $400 rented a U-Haul and bought fuel to get home. It was a private sale, so I had no real recourse to the former owner (I briefly considered inviting him for a Molotov cocktail). I bought the car with my heart and not with my head. I know better. A LOT better.

I started fixing cars long before I could drive. I've done more repairs on the roadside than most people would do at home. I consider myself a "very serious DIYer". I should have looked the car over more thoroughly. Shame on me.

I decided to fix the STS myself & bought the factory service manual (it's great to have it, but it's not perfect). I didn't expect to have to remove the entire powertrain to ge the heads off, but it's a lot more accessible out of the car. And then I was able to put the powertrain in the garage. No room for the whole car & this isn't a fun sub-freezing winter driveway repair.

After I pulled the heads, it got worse. 6 head bolt holes had damaged threads. Pulled head bolt hole threads in the block are a common reason headgaskets blow on early Northstars (ref: Caddyinfo.com). Later blocks have steel inserts to eliminate this problem. The TIME-SERT thread repair kit is expensive, but there's no alternative & it's way cool for tool geeks like me. It came this morning, so that's Saturday's job.