: 1997 Deville problems

ACENA
11-15-03, 10:11 AM
I recently bought a new 2003 Deville and I am selling my beloved 1997 to a friend. Before the sale I took the '97 in to a dealer(whom I've never used previously) to inspect the car as a courtesy to the buyer. I was surprised to hear some of the problems(and cost) that were found ??

1) The engine has an oil leak? I have never seen any fluid in my driveway. The car burns oil a little faster than other cars but nothing I would deem dramatic ?

2) There is an anti-freeze leak? Again , I have never seen any stains. The temperature has always run perfect and I have not noticed any dramatic drops in levels?

3) The car was given a full tune-up and premium wire job by my trusted local mechanic 7 months ago. The car runs like a champ, yet I was told it needed a full tune-up?

This car great car has always been pampered and well-serviced, was I missing something?

This is my first time posting. I apologize if my format or questions are not in correct form. Any advice would be gretly apreciated. Thanks AC.

elwesso
11-15-03, 10:18 AM
Welcome to the forums, thanks for signing up :wave:

For the tuneup, you probably wont need plugs and wires, as they need to be replaced every 100k..... The term "tuneup" can be a big money maker for the dealer..... Ask what specific things you need to have done, then we can tell you what really needs to happen!! If youi are a compitent DIYer, we can tell you what you can do yourself......

For the oil leak.... Northstar does it, and if you dont see any oil, I wouldnt worry about it...... Its probably gonna cost a lot to get that fixed......

Anti-freeze leak..... Id be interested to see where it is.... Ask them where the leak is....

zonie77
11-15-03, 10:44 AM
Did they show you where the leaks are? Let us know where they are.