: 98 deville coolant smell?

iamproctor
03-08-14, 01:13 AM
Hi there, I'm new to the n* and just purchased a 98 deville with 240k on I today. The car was sitting for two years but was started every few weeks so nothing fell apart. Anyway the question I have is I checked all the fluids in it before I started it and topped off the coolant as it was pretty low from sitting. Car hadn't been on road for a long time. It runs absolutely mint nk warning lights and as smooth as can be. I have a feeling I may have slightly overfilled the coolant and I noticed as I drove it to the shop to get the oil changed I could smell the sweet smell of coolant inside the car. It is not leaking or anything and still has heat. The coolant temperature on display stayed between 94-105degrees celcius. I am getting the coolant flushed on monday but should I be worried about this issue? The car seems to be driving perfectly fine. It has a slight steam from the exhaust but I'm assuming thats the moisture In the exhaust burning off after for sitting.

Anything I should look for in the future? I'm a very lite throttle driver and dont drive it like a race car so abuse isn't an issue.

Also should I give the mechanic these sealant pellets I hear of? And how much do they cost

Thanks in advance! mike

vincentm
03-08-14, 01:57 AM
Have it pressure tested. Or place cardboard under to catch any drips, dex cool will leave a chaulky white residue

rodnok01
03-08-14, 09:19 AM
Don't use the pellets. If you're smelling it there is a leak somewhere. I wouldnt get it flushed until you find it or may be wasting your money.

Submariner409
03-08-14, 10:16 AM
White exhaust vapor is perfectly normal at startup - every car does it - look at tailpipes at the stoplights, particularly in cold/cool-humid weather. Billows of steam that smells like coolant is NOT normal.