: How many miles do you guys put on your cars every year?

Caddy Man
11-11-03, 07:36 PM
Whats up everyone? I have had my DTS for about 11 months now and i have put about 15,000 miles on it. Many people tell me its average but i feel i put on a lot. I do a lot of freeway driving. My car right now has 25,000 miles and i bought it used with only 10,000 on the odometer. But the car is a 2000 DTS, so i am WAY under the mileage i am supposed to have. Just wonderin how much u guys drive? I wish i didnt rack up all these miles so quickyl (i want my baby to be around forever!) but i just cant help it. :)

elwesso
11-11-03, 07:42 PM
Thats fairly normal..... Miles are sorta irrelant these days..... Id take a 10 year old car (same car) with 120k highway miles than 100k of all city driving.....

I am a student, and my school is about 6 miles away..... During the summer, work is only 1.4 miles away.... Thus, I have put on 4000 miles since I got it last Feb.......

airbalancer
11-11-03, 08:57 PM
WIth my pick up for work I have put on 90,000 since March of 2000
The wife drives the STS to work it is only 5 miles roung trip
With her 99 Grand Prix she only put on 56,000 on in 5 years
So the STS should last awhile.
Remember you bought the car to drive so do not worry about the miles and enjoy it

elwesso
11-11-03, 08:59 PM
Yes..... Especially if you plan on keeping it!!

The only way to get your moneys worth out of all of the rubber components is to drive the car!! They need to be replaced based on time, not on miles!

Night Wolf
11-11-03, 09:17 PM
I have put 5,500 mile son my car is under 3 months.

When I first got it on the road (early Aug) Hell, it's my first car and I just got my license, I would get up at 6 and go home at 9 and just drive all friggin day...times I filled up twice, even 3 times a day just becuase I drove soo much....

....at least I explored every single road within a 15mile radius of my house..... now I know short cuts I didn't before.