: New guy here, with a Nash....

JoeBob1901
05-27-05, 11:10 AM
hey, I'm normally a Ford guy, Ford EFI/Mass air guy, so I'm kind of out of my element here :yup:

My DD is a very modified fullsize Bronco that i take offroading, so..vehicle modification isn't something new to me, but i've mainly done axle swaps, slight engine repair, and adding tranny coolers, shift kits, etc....

I'm new to BB's, and carbs in general, so..I'm here to learn, as I'm picking up a project car, 4dr '47 Nash 600. I have been looking aroudn for good engine swaps, different combinations of engine/tranny, and a hot-rod builder suggested i look at the caddy 500, as i was looking for a pretty stock engine, just to get the car moving, as i dont have a huge budget for this project, at least at this time.

I found a Caddy 500, mated to a 400, for 400 bucks. Good deal? :lildevil:

Been looking around..browsing a few offroad sites for info, and hit google for caddy 500 info/upgrades. Found this site, which seems like it'll be my best bet for help on the install and the diagnosing and upgrading part of the engine.

First off, I've seen ALOT of conflicting motor claims from my searching. Looks like a big range for the HP/TQ readings...I'm looking at a 76 500, what are the REAL HP/TQ ratings on this beast?

Also going to look into small modifications, like tweaks and tuneup stuff, like advancing timing, etc, etc...I also saw on another site a tweak to the intake maybe? Saw it late last night, but have it bookmarked...

Thats about it, i'll continue to cruise the forum :thumbsup:

michael96
05-27-05, 08:05 PM
Welcome

Ralph
05-27-05, 08:23 PM
Welcome aboard. you may find this interesting, but I have the November 1948 Mechanix Illustrated where they test the Nash. If you need to know anything, etc. Interesting is the weight at 2800 lbs. and it got between 25 and 30 mpg.

JoeBob1901
05-27-05, 10:09 PM