: My first solo flight.....

Night Wolf
05-22-05, 12:11 AM
Well, as some know, I am a student pilot. I have been nearing the time for my first solo flight (need at least 3 take off and landings) and yesterday was the day!

it was kinda cloudy when I flew, the wind was nice, no air traffic at all... it was a great day for it. The instructor was with me, we did 2 take offs and landings, a simulated engine out, a go-around, another engine out and another go around, then we landed and he said "Well, do you feel comfortable doing a few of these on your own?" I said yes, so then he hoped out and told me to have fun and enjoy :)

my mother, her fiancee', aunt and uncle, father, his girl firend, and a friend from school were all there watching....

It was different, I didn't feel nervous at all, infact I was more nervous when I went for my driving test then when I flew solo, everyone said my voice was more confident and clear, and slower on the radio when I was alone, and both my take offs and landings were the best I have ever done. One thing I noticed, with only 1 person in the plane, it wants to fly so much better, it is a small plane and with 2 guys and full tanks of fuel, it is at the edge of the weight limit, but with just me, it took off sooner, climbed better, and was overall flying better.... not to mention I actually had some room to kinda strech out and stuff.... I really enjoyed it :)

I did my 3, but we had lots of time, so my instructor told me to do 2 more.... so I did 5 total, with 16.1 hours now, I only have another 16 or so to go, I am getting my recreational license, not private, only because I am running tight on time as it is... only another 5 weeks of school left or so... hopefully it'll go smooth now :)

the plane is a 1980 (IIRC) Cessna 152II, it really is a cool plane, so forgiving and easy to fly, of our 2, this is mine (as well as everyone else' ) favorite one "Cessna 920"..... it was fun :)

Night Wolf
05-22-05, 12:11 AM
Well, here are the pics.