: Power Steering Pump Removal - 83 de Ville

s1fty1
04-22-05, 02:50 AM
Hey Guys, (whoops I already posted this in another forum, but I think it should be here, sorry.. i'm a newbie...)

I'm a little stuck on pulling my power steering pump on my 83 de Ville... The problem is getting the pulley off so I can access the bolts!!

At the centre of the pulley is a 3/8 internal hex, and aside from that, there's nothing else to get a spanner on? I've trying tensioning the belt and trying to turn the hex, but I'm not 100% sure which way I should turn it... Ie: should I hold the pulley and turn the hex to the Left, or should I hold the hex and turn the pulley to the left???????????????????????:banghead:

Bad language has been used... :rant2:oh so much bad language... mostly directed at the stinking Haynes Workshop manual that isn't worth the paper it's printed on....

I live in New Zealand, so people who know about Caddies are, well mostly non-existant.... Any help HUGELY appreciated... :)

The Ape Man
04-22-05, 10:26 AM
That pulley is pressed on to the pump. These is a special puller which slides into the groove in the front of your pulley. It has a turnscrew pin which bears against the pump's shaft. Re-installation is with a threaded rod into the inside of the pump shaft and a large nut with a few washers and/or a bearing. You tighten the nut and that presses the pulley back on.
You will not get it apart in one piece without the puller.

s1fty1
04-22-05, 06:32 PM
Damn.... So you're saying no special tool = no removing pump??

hmm... that makes things difficult........... I have to have it done within 28 days, due to some dumb laws we have here.... Basically it failed my it's new Import "Warrant of Fitness" because of this leak, and a ball joint... both have to be fixed and reinspected..... If I can't do it witin 28 days, it gets harder and more expensive..