: Straight scoop on Cads

Jaycee
02-10-03, 09:08 PM
Hey everyone. Another newbie here. I have a broad question about Cadillacs in general. Are they as unreliable as some say? In other forums, I have heard such vehemence spewed that I wonder if the cars are really that bad or if it was just someone's sour grapes.

The reason I ask is because I've recently been considering a mid- 90s Seville STS. I've always loved the body style (so cool) and the Northstar. I mean, who wouldn't want a smooth riding luxury muscle car. But the dependability has me concerned. I expect to have to do some repairs but I want to be confident that my car will get me where I'm going.

I know I will get some replys that say buying a Caddie is worth it despite the repairs and that's fine, but this car will be my daily driver and I need to count on my "American Muscle".

Thanks for your advice,

Jaycee
A future Caddie owner!?!

Brett
02-10-03, 09:15 PM
I bought my SLS new on Jan 16 2001 other than oil changes and for 15k servicing it has not been to the dealer since, these cars are very reliable imo...the thing is every board you go to, so many people hate every car except the one they own...cadillacs are not as bad as people would have you think...the northstar seems kind outdated now(no vvt)...and thats because its been around in the same basic form for 10+ years...it is the model by which other luxury engines were built thruout the 90's.... i love Lexus and MB and BMW but Cadillac is the true American Luxury car and definitely worth a look. BTW usually if someone is ranting about a cadillac all you have to do is replace the word Cadillac with Lincoln and they'll be right on the money.

Brett
02-10-03, 09:16 PM
Oh and welcome to the board...there are a lot of good people here and it is one of the best boards ive ever visited

Dead Sled
02-10-03, 09:20 PM