: Oil in spark plug chamber, How Bad Is This?

Eldorado_RED
03-29-05, 12:00 PM
Hey guys how are you doing. Well first off, my car is believed to have a small leak in the head gaskets, but I have been managing to drive it to and from work for the past 3 months, on coolant and bars leak. But while checking the spark plugs today, I noticed some oil at the bottom of the chamber, the first chamber had no oil. The second chamber had a lil trace, but the last two had some oil at the bottom. Can anyone tell me how bad this is and how long I got b4 my baby craps out on me. Do I have to get another engine. Thanks in advance. Have a great day.

Spyder
03-29-05, 12:39 PM
Dude, a little oil on an eight year old car is nothign to worry about...unless its gushing out or blowing blue smoke out the exhaust...I'm on my second northstar, both over 80,000 miles, and there's a little bit of oil in some of the holes when I pulled the plugs on both...don't worry about it unless it turns into a problem! Is it burning or leaking or using more than the 'ol 1 qt every 1000 miles? If not, then you're good to go!

zonie77
03-29-05, 12:49 PM
That is just an oil leak, if you do the head gaskets you will fix this leak at the same time.

BeelzeBob
03-29-05, 02:27 PM
Are you talking about oil down in the spark plug wells as you look in at the plug from the cam cover...????

If so, that is absolutely nothing to worry about. The cam cover seal around the spark plug well is just seeping oil into the well. This is just not anything at all to worry about. Oil splashing around inside the cam cover is weeping past the seal and into the spark plug well. If there is ever a need to take the cam covers off then I would fix it but it isn't even worth taking the cam covers off for and means absolutely nothing. The oil will only build up a tiny bit before it runs back into the cam cover when the engine is shut off so it will never ever get any worse.