: Calling All The Guru's

LEODEE
03-28-05, 03:05 AM
Hello To All....
Of Course Im A Newbie And Have The Following Problem....
Ok Here It Is I Just Got A 97 Catera W/98,056 Miles To Be Exact
I Got It 1wk Ago Bought It And Drove It Home For About 97 Miles
All Was Ok. The Nex Day# 1.the Check Engine Lite Comes On, And The Car Start # 2.sputter And Shake #3.the Oil Pressure Goes Up And Down But Doesnot Pass The Redline ,so The Next Day The Lite Is Still On Oil Press. Goes Up&dwn But The Sputtering Stop So The Followin Day Lite Is On And Oil Press. Goes Up/dwn Then It Start Sputtering After 40min Of Use .#4 The A/c Has A Foul Smell 4 About 5min.
So Im Calling All The Caddy Guru's To Help With This Problem

Ohhhh By The Way Oil Leves Is Ok,coolant Is Ok But Were In
World Is The Dipstick 4 The Tranny ????????? Yes,is Automatic.
Thanks Leo Dee

stevehogan
03-28-05, 09:39 AM
:welcome: to the world of Catera Ownership. Your wondrous journey has just begun.

Regarding the engine sputter - you need to have the engine codes read. The Check Engine light is telling you that the onboard diagnostic systems have detected a problem. Having the codes read is the only way to retrieve this information.

Regarding the oil pressure - don't worry about it as yet. The oil pressure varies with engine speed, and the sputtering is causing the engine speed to vary, and thus also the oil pressure. The key here is that it is staying out of the red, so you are virtually certain to be OK.

Regarding the A/C - change the cabin air filter (the instructions are in your owner's manual). This is easy to do and is supposed to be done every 15K miles. However, many folks forget to do it and it gets clogged with lots of junk - sometimes very smelly junk. If that fails to cure the smell, then there is probably mold growing on the A/C core or in the A/C ducts. There are some aftermarket chemical treatments for this problem that are pretty effective.