: Dear Hot Rod Saint......

IndianaSpank
03-07-05, 06:32 PM
I'm still wrestling with the details of the post by theGman dated 2/23/04 where he laid out some specific questions re:suspension issues. You were kind enough to address each of his concerns. Me, I'm not so bright, so here comes a couple more.
1. BMR lower contol arms. Do I need uppers too? Adjustable or stock length?

2. BMR offers some sway bars as well. Would the "monster" rear sway bar they have be more desireable than a stock 9C1 application?

3. I am not a mechanic. I'm having my local garage put these bits on. Any modifications or curve balls for the above average mechanic? Everybody around here I talk to looks at me as if I'm growing a second head when I talk Fleet/SS parts commonality. Especially the Caddy/Chevy dealership.

4. When I put the Bilsteins on, what fuse do I pull to disable ride level? I aim to keep the stock stance and firm everything up some.

5. Thanks for all your help.

IndianaSpank

theGman
03-07-05, 11:19 PM
By the way, as a follow up, for what it's worth:

I did the lower control arms, Bilstein stiff shocks, front and rear HO sway bars, SS springs, etc. as mentioned on that post. My son installed most the stuff for me, in the driveway, in about 4 hours.

The toughest part, if I recall, was attaching the upper rear shocks...I was readly to cut holes in the trunk but he managed to do it before I got to cutting. You'd think they'd have factory plugged access holes for that.

HotRodSaint
03-08-05, 01:07 AM
1. BMR lower contol arms. Do I need uppers too? Adjustable or stock length?

Stock length lower

2. BMR offers some sway bars as well. Would the "monster" rear sway bar they have be more desireable than a stock 9C1 application?

Search for BMR Here (http://impalassforum.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=16;hardset=;start_point =;DaysPrune=)

3. Any modifications or curve balls for the above average mechanic?

None at all.