: Nylon/Leather Top Replacement

nebulosity
07-25-13, 01:37 PM
I'm not entirely sure what the nylon/leather top part is called on my just above the back seat (can't find it in my shop manual), but it's going to need to be replaced (eventually, after I get it running). Is it nylon? Or some kind of treated leather?

Do people have them custom made, or does anyone re-make them themselves? I have a sewing machine, a degree in engineering and a lot of creativity, so I'd really like to redo it myself -- after all this *is* a project car. ;)

Are the assembly drawings hiding somewhere in my shop manual? I checked under the "body", and it only covers the frame and the things connected near the frame.

If not in the shop manual, does anyone know where I could get more information about how to replace this thing? If not, I'll just have to go out there and delicately try to figure out how to take it off and recover it. :noidea:

Any ideas appreciated.

turbojimmy
07-25-13, 02:43 PM
Package shelf?

outsider
07-25-13, 02:51 PM
I think i've heard it called the "rear deck" or "package shelf" or just about anything you can think of. lol.

Should be pretty easy to figure out how to remove and recover it. get in the trunk and look up, you should see how it's in there ;)

cadillac kevin
07-25-13, 02:58 PM
I think she's talking about the package shelf/ rear deck covering. To remove it properly, you need to remove the back seat (bottom then top) then simply slide it forward. Or you can just reach between it and the rear deck and yank it out and have the cloth fabric rip around the back seat supports (you can't tell because the fabric is several inches behind the seat back and it wouldn't matter because you are replacing the fabric anyways).

csbuckn
07-25-13, 05:26 PM