: Delco Changer in 1996 Fleetwood

Cadilac
02-15-05, 06:16 PM
Hi Guys. I am new to Cadillacs and I thought this should be a simple install but it gave me a headache (yes, I already did a search).

I have a GM Delco CD Changer with Delco cable. The 1996 Fleetwood has a factory cassette radio with CD Changer controls and no connectors of the type that I am used to for the CD Changer. I can't find a remote box for the head unit either; but I don't know if there is supposed to be one.

How/where do I hook the changer up? Thanks.

MWA
02-19-05, 07:02 AM
I purchased a Delco 12 disc CD player for my 98 Eldorado and the factory manual related that the remote connection was in the right rear of the trunk. It was pigtailed and secured under the trunk carpeting next to the antenna housing and the special Eldo CD mounting bracket (I purchased this from a dealer) could be mounted right center of trunk (bolted right into GM manufacured hardware under the carpet). Removed a single jumper from the original trunk cable and plugged the cable directly into the CD unit and the radio immediately recognized the player. It takes a few minutes for orginal set up as the radio checks all cd loading in the cd magazine and you can hear this procedure. Use the source button. You will see a cd icon on the radio green screen. Only wrinkle is if you want to go to cd #7, hold down radio button #1 until the radio beeps and then the changer loads #7. Enjoy!

Cadilac
02-19-05, 05:31 PM
Thanks for your input MWA - that is exactly what I was expecting, but this car doesn't seem to work that way.

The only pigtail in the trunk is a small power lead with an antenna type cable connector both taped together. It looks like it is for an integrated telephone or cb-radio type setup. It is not a standard plug for a 12 disc changer.