: First Experience in a V-Wagon - Deployed Airbags

GTO_Miker
06-30-13, 01:54 PM
I was instructing a guy in his 2012 V-Wagon at a low speed precision driving event (Parkinglot, not a track). I picked him to instruct because I have many years experience on track in C5/C6 Vettes, CTS-Vs, M3s, etc and have driven a couple V-coupes and v-4doors but never a wagon. He was new to high-hp cars so I had him put it in comp mode so the electronics were still active, and we put the suspension on sporty. His car is bone stock, down to OEM tires with OEM air in them.

So we go out and make it through every element with out any issue, but in the last little slalom (~25mph if that) he gave it a little to much gas the car steps out maybe 5-10degrees and boom, side curtain airbags fire and seatbelt pretentioners fire. In all my years I've never seen anything like it. I have ~8-10hours in CTS-Vs on track and never had anything odd happen then to to just have the airbags pop in a parking lot? Didn't hit a cone, didn't hit a bump in the road, nothing. Just a tiny slide on smooth blacktop.

I'm a tall dude so my helmet was resting on the A-pillar when the curtains fired, it ****ed my neck up good, I'm currently posting this in bed while recuperating.

Random84
06-30-13, 02:25 PM
wow - that's wild. I've heard of people pulling fuses to prevent that during HPDE's, but then you're defeating the purpose of the safety mechanisms....

I hope it's covered under warranty - I'd be pissed.

StoneCrab
06-30-13, 02:31 PM
Didn't something similar happen to a CTS-V wagon in an autocross last year, and I recall the guy was a GM employee? That is very weird, and scary. This type of failure should be taken very seriously as it can cause serious injury or a fatal accident. To the OP - I hope you recover quickly and have no long term injury. The irony of the safety systems themselves causing injury - good thing the government is there to keep us from injuring ourselves...

GTO_Miker
06-30-13, 02:42 PM