: Engine light after FFV installed

willsctsv
02-12-05, 09:12 PM
FFV installed successfully today, After a good 30 minute test drive I noticed my engine light came on. I checked under the hood and found what I suspeceted, I didn't tighten the clamps enough and the heat under the hood allowed the aluminum tube to slip out of the rubber elbow. No problem to fix right, Now that everything is tight and car started, the engine light is stii on, is there a reset somewhere, or will this thing reset itself overnight?
I drove the car for another 1/2 hour after the fix and it performs fine but light is still on. :annoyed:

wildwhl
02-12-05, 09:29 PM
I'm not an expert on these check engine light deals, but usually one of two things has to happen:

A) unplug the battery for 24 hours, or find another way to drain the slight residual voltage from the computer which can be tricky/dangerous to the car's computer

B) some codes reset after a certain number of start/drive/stop cycles (3-5). These usually have to be complete cycles, not just turn the car on and off a few times - but actually drive, turn off, let sit, repeat.

I'd drive it for a day or two and see if the light doesn't reset itself. Resetting the computer isn't that hard by disconnecting the battery and there is a shortcut that I've used on other cars - but I'd hate to see you fry something.

Good luck.

willsctsv
02-12-05, 09:36 PM
Thanks wild, I have had engine lights come on other vehicles for various reasons and they usually do reset. I felt a little power loss after that light came on and the clamps were allowing air to enter the throttle body after the MAF sensor. Now i have my power back and all i need is for that light to go out. I think the car really needs an exhaust to feel the intake mod. More air in more air out.

wildwhl
02-12-05, 09:39 PM
Gotta say I really like my resonator 3" B&B :sneaky:

Of course, after the maggie goes on I might remove it to get some of my stealthiness (word?) back!

willsctsv