: 2006 STS timing chain issue

packsfan430
06-24-13, 12:06 PM
Hey everyone,

I graduated college just a few months ago and immediately got my first job (yay) so I went out looking for my first big boy car. I browsed dealers and classifieds and my eyes caught an 06 cadillac STS. The car was immaculate...flawless inside and out. I took it to my mechanic and upon further review everything came out just fine. I went ahead and purchased the vehicle with just under 75k miles. I was, and still am, absolutely in love with this car. I went so far as to convince my brother-in-law to lease his next car from GM because I wanted to start my loyalty to them from this car on-wards. Now comes the sad part...after a few months, the check engine light went on and I took it into my local cadillac dealer to get it checked out. $150 fee later, I was told the timing chain needed to be replaced. At first, I thought everything in cars were belts and rubber...never had I heard of a chain (not a car guy by any means.) They also told me it would cost a solid $2500 to fix!!! After picking my jaw up off the floor, I decided to call GM while my car was in the shop and ask if there was anything they could do. The warranty on the vehicle had expired less than a year ago from the original owner and I was hoping they could somehow extend that or at least help me out somehow. I left the car at that dealer for about 3 days while I waited for GM to call me back. Once they did, I did not even know if I was talking to GM...I kept getting transferred between lines...and not to discredit any of their employees on how much they know, but I kept getting connected to individuals with very poor english and it was a very hard time understanding them most of the time. After the 3 days they finally called me and told me there was absolutely nothing they can do. I told them I had googled this issue and ALOTTTT of users with cadillacs 2005 and up with a 3.6liter engine were reporting timing chain issues on so many