: 70 DeVille Carburetor Vaper-lock or "Heat-soak" issues

jc4now
06-23-13, 10:17 AM
After blowing my engine, (Valve broke-off and dropped into the cylinder) I rebuilt nice a 71, 472 and dropped it in. Kept it as original as possible. However; This modern ethanol fuel is a real pain. I felt it was running a little too warm. I have a 180 degree thermostat and a mechanic used a fancy laser thermometer to tell me I'm running about 190-195 degrees going back into the radiator.

The problem is, I stop somewhere for 20 minutes to an hour and it starts (If the battery can hold out that long) like she is flooded. I'm told it's "heat-soak" or Vapor-lock from the ethanol boiling-out of the fuel in the Carburetor float bowls and/or fuel lines. I've been looking around the web and I see race forms talk about a "Phenloic" Carburetor spacer to insulate the carburetor from the heat rising off the manifold. It looks like most are 1 inch thick. (I don't know if I have that much room under the hood to keep the OEM air cleaner) They also mention insulating the fuel lines near the engine and adding a electric fuel pump to add fuel line pressure. Some suggest buying marine or airplane fuel first. (Talk about BIG fuel prices, if you can get it.)
I am told the ethanol in our gas will only increase in the coming years. Which will only make things worse for those of us with older carbonated vehicles.

It's seems like the minute you change one thing you end-up changing 7 others to make it work. Is there a, relatively, easy fix to this? I'm not fond of the idea of converting to a fancy and expensive Fuel Injected System.

csbuckn
06-23-13, 10:32 AM
I'd try to insulate the lines and move them away from anything hot before I do anything else. I dont see it being vapor lock if its parked for an hour and gives you problems on start up. The vapor lock I've dealt with would kill the car when driving. The guy had a second metal fuel filter in front of the engine. Hard starts when warm...