: How tough is a Fleetwood?

ShadowLvr400
02-10-05, 12:02 AM
I'm trying to find out crash ratings, tests, visuals, etc on my 96 Fleetwood. Basically, someone in my household said they saw 5 points on the car where a decent hit would split the car apart. I just can't quite see that car coming apart. Overall, there's just too much steel in it IMO.

Spock
02-10-05, 12:57 AM
Well that's just assumption on their part. How about the scientific method?!

Take their car, then ram yours into it. I guarantee you that you can drive away! If not I'll foot the cost!*

You could try looking for the caprice crash test rating, or roadmaster with the same engine. If the 96 cadillac has the engine cross bars then you're even better off than what theirs are.

*Offer only valid if they drive an import which is smaller

CharBroiled
02-10-05, 07:22 AM
The only accidents where Ive heard of a car coming apart are 100 mph+ accidents where the car hits sideways on a rear quarter. Im no expert though.

ShadowLvr400
02-10-05, 11:43 AM
She drives an Integra. (They're actually relatively tough.) She says it though because of her wreck a couple years back. Her Integra then split into like 3 main hunks. 100 odd mph.
Only thing I have is the insurance safety rating, with all cars in relation to 100. A rating of 25 indicates a 1/4 chance of being in a fatal accident. 100 indicates an average chance, and a rating of 395 would be 4x as likely to be killed in a wreck. My Eldo was an 87. The Fleetwood is a 32.

Adam
02-10-05, 07:32 PM
these cars can withstand hydraulics (wich i know is nothing compared to a crash) so i doubt they will split into pieces. i do know the body can bend a little at the back glass if you dont support it (thats with hydraulics).

SoundAdvantage
02-12-05, 02:16 AM