: Running wifes V at Willow Springs drags tonight

Big Jay
06-22-13, 08:04 PM
Going to go to the track and make a half dozen runs. it is an A6 sedan. I have never tried to leave hard in this car before. I took it to the track enterance road and tried it. Leave in drive with TC off just puts down a lot of rubber. TC on and it leaves pretty good.

This is an all asphalt track without concrete pad, so I will just leave TC on.

If anyone is in the LA / SFV area, come on up. Racing starts at 7 PM. If you want to run your car, they rent helmets.

FinestKind-CTS-V
06-23-13, 12:23 PM
Let us know how you do and what makes for best technique .... I assume you use the sport transmission mode but how about the sport suspension mode, on or off? Make any difference?

Do you leave TC on or off, do you power brake it up a bit before launch or just stomp it, or do you half throttle it to gain traction with TC off then stomp it?...

Not sure which way gives the best results but would like your opinions before running my 2012 A6 sedan here in NJ for fun, just want to see what she can do!
So frustrating to have all that power under your foot and not able to really open it up anywhere BUT a racetrack...

Trainman SRT-10
06-23-13, 07:36 PM
Results?

Big Jay
06-24-13, 08:15 PM
My shop is in front of the track. I came to work Sat morning and turned into the track enterance road to practise launches. TC off was a huge waste of time. So I did a few with TC on. Much better.

So I made the decision to just use drive with TC on. In my Vette, if you make a run in sport mode, it shifts at a slightly higher RPM and a little more firm. Wasn't sure about the Cad, so I didn't try that.